Obtaining Visa:

All foreign nationals, except Indians, are required to have a valid visa to enter Nepal. Requirements for tourist visa include:

  1. Valid passport with a minimum of six-month validity period at the time of entry into Nepal.
  2. Visa application form.
  3. Applicable visa fee. See below for rates.(EFTPOS facility in the Embassy, Money Order/Bank Cheque in the name of ‘Embassy of Nepal’ is accepted) 
  4. Visa can be obtained by personally visiting the Embassy or sending documents by post. If you are sending your passport by post, please do not forget to send a
    self-addressed postage paid envelop to return your passport. Applicants are requested to use signature on delivery post for returning the passports with visa. The Embassy will not be responsible for lost/undelivered posts. (Physical address:-22 Kareelah Vista, O’malley,ACT 2606. Postal Address: Embassy of Nepal, PO box no 1070, Mawson, ACT 2607)
  5. Visa once issued cannot be withdrawn, visa fee cannot be refunded after visa is issued, and it must be used within six months from the date of issue.
  6. Tourist entry visa can also be obtained at the following immigration offices in Nepal:

7. On Arrival Visa:

Nationals from most of the countries including Australia and New Zealand can get On-Arrival Visa in Kathmandu. Please be advised that Visa Pre-arrival form should be completed through  before boarding

  • Immigration Office, Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu
  • Immigration Office, Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal)
  • Immigration Office, Birgunj, Parsa (Central Nepal)
  • Immigration Office, Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border)
  • Immigration Office, Belahia, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal)
  • Immigration Office, Jamunaha, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal)
  • Immigration Office, Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal)
  • Immigration Office, Gadda Chauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal)

 8. People of these countries can not get visa on arrival at the immigration entry point of Nepal. Please contact the nearest Nepalese Embassy, Consulate Office and get further information.

1. Nigeria 2. Ghana 3. Zimbabwe
4. Swaziland 5. Cameroon 6. Somalia
7. Liberia 8. Ethiopia 9. Iraq
10. Palestine 11. Afghanistan 12. Syria

8. Visa Fee

Visa Type Visa Fee Mode of Payment
Multiple Entry – 15 days AUD$ 50 (EFTPOS facility is available for debit cards (No credit cards) where 1.10% is applied as surcharge per transaction. Cash is also accepted.
Multiple Entry – 30 days AUD $ 80
Multiple Entry – 90 days AUD$ 200

Note:-   The visa fee charged by the Honorary Consulates may be higher than the above due to service fee they charge for the services rendered. Please contact them or visit their website for further  information.

9. Visa Year : January to December

10. Visa Extension

A tourist visa can be extended up to 120 days within a visa year from the Department of Immigration in Kathmandu and Pokhara Immigration Office on request. Thereafter an additional 30 days can be extended from Department of Immigration, Kathmandu ensuring that tourist visa cannot be extended more than 150 days.

11. Gratis visa and eligibility:

  • Diplomatic Visa

Eligibility:  Diplomatic Passport holders and their family members.
Duration: Reciprocal basis( in the recommendation of their respective Diplomatic Missions).
Issuing Authority: Ministry of Foreign Affairs. For 30 days entry-Embassies and the Immigration Office at the entry points in Nepal.
A note verbale  from the concerned Diplomatic Mission is required.

  • Official Visa

Eligibility:  Non-Diplomatic personnel of Missions and their family Members, Honorary/Nepalese Consulate Generals/Consuls and their family members(during the time of their visit to Nepal), Advisers and Specialists, working in Nepal under the official agreement and their family members, UN Agencies personnel, UN document holders and their family members,  Personnel working in the International institutions or Regional Organizations in Nepal and their family members.
 Requirement: A note verbale from the concerned diplomatic mission.
Issuing Authority: Ministry of Foreign Affairs. For 30 days entry-Embassies and the Immigration Office at the entry points in Nepal.

12. Children below the age of ten years shall be exempted from visa fees;  no visa fee shall be applicable to the Chinese passport holder upto 150 days and   to the passport holder of member states of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) for 30 days

  • Embassy issues Tourist, Diplomatic and Official Visa only. People going for other purposes can obtain a tourist visa from the Embassy or Consulate and apply for an appropriate category at the Department of Immigration, Nepal with required eligibility & documents or submit visa application online and get approval before traveling to Nepal. For detailed information on visa and other related information please contact:

Department of Immigration
Kalikasthan, Dillibazar

Tel: +977-1-4429659/4429660/4438862/4438868
Fax: +977-1-4433934/4433935